search tips  sitemap


California Lodging
Industry Association

1017 L Street #527
Sacramento, CA 95814-3805

Toll Free: (800) 637-4664
Direct: (916) 925-2915
Fax: (916) 686-1321

Scholarship Award

The CLIA Academic Scholarship Fund

Do you know a California college student studying for a career in the lodging or hospitality industry?

CLIA awards an annual academic scholarship to worthy California college students pursuing an education in the lodging and hospitality fields. The CLIA Board of Directors created the scholarship fund in 1998 to recognize and promote academic excellence. The fund is solely funded through the generous donations of CLIA members.

Award Amount
A scholarship of $1,500 will be awarded for one academic year. Scholarships may be renewed upon reapplication.

Scholarship recipients will be selected based on a combination of their academic performance, lodging or hospitality work experience, extra curricular activities, personal attributes, and future goals.

Applicants must meet the following criteria:
Must be a California resident
Must be currently enrolled in a four-year California college or university
Must be majoring in a lodging or hospitality-related field
Must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.00

Scholarship Process
Students must complete the current year application and adhere to all deadlines. Contact the CLIA office for an application or click here to download a copy. The application requires a 250-word summary of the student’s background, achievements, activities, and experiences, and an outline of their goals in the lodging and hospitality industry. References and letters of recommendations will be accepted from students’ employers, college/university instructors, or friends of at least five years (no relatives). Applicants may be interviewed via telephone or in person.

Award Notification
Scholarship recipients will be notified of their awards in early fall and recognized at CLIA's Annual Membership meeting. CLIA encourages applications from women, minorities, persons with disabilities, and other traditionally underrepresented groups. For applications, deadlines, or questions about the process, contact CLIA at (916) 925-2915 or

Past Scholarship Awards
2010 - Kimberly Bahuay, University of San Francisco
2009 - Stacy Cheng-Pong, California State University Long Beach
2008 - Caitlin O'Brien, California State University Chico
2007 - Angel Paz, Cal Poly Pomona
2006 - CSU Long Beach
2005 - Mariasol Diaz, Cal Poly Pomona
2004 - Nicole Newman, University of San Francisco
2003 - Laura O’Connor, University of San Francisco
2002 - Matthias H. Kowalsky, University of San Francisco
2001 - Karan Kapoor, Collins Hospitality Management School, Cal Poly Pomona
2000 - Rodolfo F. Figueroa, Stanford University, Palo Alto
1999 - Ryan F. Adams, United States International University

Donate to the CLIA Academic Scholarship Fund
CLIA is pleased to help provide the means for educational attainment to worthy hospitality scholars throughout California, donations to the scholarship fund by check or by credit card should be sent to:

CLIA Scholarship Fund
1017 L Street #527
Sacramento, CA 95814-3805

If you would like to make a donation by credit card, contact CLIA at (800) 637-4664.

click here to download application

2014 Education & Scholarship Committee
Jill Macdonald (Chair) - Quality Inn Eureka
Eric R. Cogdill - Surf Motel Gualala
Gordon Jackson - Mission Inn of Pismo Beach
Gary Hong - Hampton Inn & Suites of Alameda
Brian Mathews - Golden Bear Inn of Berkeley
Allison Davis-Brown - Marin Management, Inc.


Home | Join CLIA | Contact Us | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Return Policy

Copyright © 2015 CLIA. All rights reserved.

Problems viewing our site?